5 Gay Movies to Keep You Warm This Winter!

Hey everyone! Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays! So today, rather than anything related to my writing, I thought I would recommend some of my favorite gay movies that are easily available on Netflix or other places online. I need background noise while I write, so I often watch movies like these while I’m writing (most people think this is weird. Anyone else like this out there?). Consequently I’ve seen most of the ones on this list (and many others) about a dozen times. Hope you enjoy!

1. The Normal Heart: Available online through HBO. Mark Ruffalo and Matt Bomer star in this heartfelt story about the onset of AIDS and the issues the gay community had when fighting the disease. It doesn’t have a happy ending, but it has a huge amount of heart and emotion. It is based on true events, so I was very interested in the description of the “gay politics” which had been so focused on free love that the idea of restricting sexual practices to protect from disease was abhorrent. If you are ready to snuggle up and shed some tears, I would recommend this movie!

2. Holding the Man: Available on Netflix. This movie covers several years of time, following mainly two young men as they work out their relationship and deal with their sexuality. It’s also set in Australia, which makes this movie stand out more. This movie also ends up dealing with the AIDS epidemic, and also has a very emotional and unhappy ending. If you want to have your heartstrings tugged out again after The Normal Heart than I would totally reccomend this!

3. Those People: Available on Netflix. This is a dramatic story about moving on and finding love. The main characters are young adults living in New York City who spend most of their time with their particularly wealthy friend. This gives the story a unique tone. This definitely has a happy ending as well as a really sweet depiction of the relationship between the main characters. 

4. I Love You Phillip Morris: A totally goofy story about two men who meet in prison (Jim Carrey and Ewan McGregor). Jim Carrey’s character is essentially a master conartist and gets himself in all sorts of trouble with his scheming.This movie is incredibly entertaining and I love seeing these actors in these roles which are very different for them. This is a really fun and wacky film which I totally reccomend.

5. Front Cover: Available on Netflix. This film is about a Chinese-American fashion designer and a Chinese actor who form a relationship where culture clash plays a really large role. I wouldn’t necessarily give this film 5 stars for acting, but I was fascinated by the cultural ideas and themes. Although its focused around a relationship, the development of the American character really ends up being the main theme of the film. From that perspective, I think the ending is very rewarding. 

I hope you enjoy these if you decide to check any of them out! Do you have any LGBTQ favorite films that weren’t on this list? Comment below or email me at krmorrighan@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

